520 - 550 Washington

The Eclipse Champagne Building


The Eclipse Champagne Building dates back to the Gold Rush Era and San Francisco's Barbary Coast.  Originally built during the 1850s, it was five separate three-story structures, one of which housed the West Coast's first attempt at making sparkling wine:  "Eclipse Champagne" was produced starting in 1874.  After the Earthquake and Fire of 1906, the top floors were removed and the five buildings were combined.  Gambling dens, speakeasies and a host of other nefarious businesses may have thrived here until Jackson Square emerged as an antiques and decorator's showcase in the late 1950s.  The building received a complete seismic, electrical and HVAC retrofit in 1999 and was purchased by Tusker Corporation in 2005.

This is the view from the TransAmerica Pyramid - directly across the street from The Eclipse Champagne Building.  The entrance to Hotaling Place is on the left.